Posted by: rosenthorn | July 7, 2011

Table Talk

A Divination Devise.

The Round Table of Life was originally designed as a way to use the Celtic Ogham Fews (i.e. “Tree Runes”).   You can use it in several ways in order to get your reading.  As long as you understand the process of divination, then you can do most anything with this.   Cast a few “runes”, gently, upon the table and read them, in relation to the chairs they landed in, where they landed in the physical or energetic side of the chair, in relation to other chairs, whether they are face up or down and in relation to both the Otherworld and the Underworld if these apply.   Lay down a few per chair and do a formal table reading.  Start at Percieval and then place one in the center and one each in the corners.   You can do specialized readings with this table.  If you want details about a situation, place a picture in the center and do a reading around it. Note that usually you only have one few per chair, but occasionally a couple will stick together and come out as one.
If a few is face down, it means that this can be outside interference, an unknown problem, energy in your life or something you need to ask for.   Transcendent Spirit Fews (the elemental Fews of Mistletoe, Morning Glory, the Grove, Beech, St. Johns Wort, Honeysuckle and the Ocean) mean that cosmic forces are active in your life.  Read each few as it is affecting that aspect of your life: is it in the red or the white?  Is it tangible in your life or energetic in nature?   If there is a few in the Wild Rose in the center, it may mean that this is advise, a resolution or an outcome.  It may mean that there is a special energy being offered to you or that you need to ask for it.  As you get familiar with the Fews and the Table, connections will start appearing to you.  The Fews in each corner can represent the energies of a three month period coming up or they can represent gifts from The Merlin and Dames Brisen and Ragnall and the Pendragon if you ask for them.   If these are used for reading the upcoming year and a spirit few comes up, then the situation will be resolved within that time period.    After you have done a reading, you can use a pendulum to feel for connections and ask questions.
After you’ve set up and activated the table, call upon The Merlin to help you learn what you seek to know.
Merlin, Merlin, Terras prophet bright, help me learn to live in Light.  
Merlin, Merlin, Terras prophet bold, show me  what I must be  told.  So mote it be.

Burn divination or Merlin incense and empower your Fews.   Clearly formulate your question.   Have a recording devise handy.  Then, cast the Fews in whatever manner you have chosen and do your reading.

Sample readings.

Here is a quick sample reading.  Say you have a friend who is wondering why she can’t be happy.  She doesn’t not want a major reading, just some guidelines to help her decide what she needs to do.   So you draw a small handful and cast them gently.   One lands face down in Lancelot’s chair and two fall on Guinevere’s chair, one overlaps with the Cosmic circle and the other with the Wild Rose in the center.  Turns out we have holly, hidden, overlapping the underworld and the alder overlapping the cosmic world.   The silver pine is hidden in Lancelots chair.   Here we discover her principles are too rigid, divinity can not reach her energetically as her feelings of duty inherited from her parents who have moved on, are weighing heavily with her.   She is too focused on religion and male religious power rather than looking for her own power and Spirit.  So knowing this information she is able to start loosening her principles and opening up to spirit in a form she is comfortable with.


I did a formal reading for me, quickly while I was living at my parents, so there wasn’t much ritual except for some cleansing and Reiki.  I just wanted to have a general reading about where I was now.  I ended up drawing two Fews out for the first chair, that of Percieval, beginnings.  I had the Yew and the Beech, hidden.  This told me that my purifications had succeeded. The negativity from my past lives was finally all released.  Not bad for seven years of intensive purification work.
    In Morgause, I had the Vine, hidden.  This chair represented, for me, my lack of discipline in matters of my health as I had been fighting food addictions that were giving me allergy problems. The few reminded me that I need to be more systematically disciplined, regardless of my circumstances.
The Merlin had the Mistletoe, hidden.  I have noticed, over time, that when using either the Ogham Fews or the Round Table, there’s always one few that reveals the persons spiritual expression.  When I would read for Bujinkan Ninjutsu practitioners (they have the NIN as a sacred symbol and often wear a it as a tattoo), the Ash would always appear somewhere.  Likewise an Oak for a Druid and the Willow for a Wiccan or Goddess worshipper.  In this case, I got a strong sense that The Merlin was saying “hi kid, Spirit is with you, no matter what”.   Sometimes the meanings can be a bit whimsical, as is life.
I found a hidden Willow in Elaine’s chair.  I felt it was implying deception at home, even if it was for survival.  I was living in a house that did not welcome Spirit, Reiki or anything Terran.  The preference was that anything Terran should burn in hell.  I was paying off some important karma to free all of us.  Thus I was willing to hide my beliefs and interests until I was able to move out and get back on my own.   There was too much need for healing here.   It may also have meant that there maybe some spirits playing games with my parents here.   This would have been a good one to use a pendulum and do a psychic investigation, but I didn’t have time or the convenience.
Heather was found in the chair of Lancelot.  A reminder to find a way to transform some of my food addictions so I can move on with life.    Dindraine had the Blackthorn in it.  It was a reminder of all the negative energies in the house I lived in and among everyone in the family.   Hawthorn was hidden in Palomides.  I was the odd-woman-out in the house I was living in.  The cleansing process would make me purer and stronger as a result.   In Guineveres’ chair was the Oak, hidden though.  I was finally getting a sense of vision and purpose in life.   That was very encouraging to see.
King Arthurs’ chair had the Silver Pine.  This was a bit funny as I had just spent over a year working to help my parents cut down about 100 dead pine and mulberry trees.  I found it very healing to be working daily in their pine grove.  I was moving to a place of greater stability and mastery in all aspects of my life.  And I was and still am grateful.
The Hazel was hidden in Dame Ragnall’s chair.  Since I was seeking mastery, I was continuing undergoing purifications in order to gain the mastery I sought.  It looked like I was succeeding.    Two came out for Sir Gawain’s chair.  The Ivy and the Alder, hidden.  Apparently my own internal code was making me a little heavy-handed at home.   The Grove was hidden in the Lady of the Lake’s chair.  I’d been challenged to ground the energies of The Merlin.  The Siege Perilous showed the ocean, hidden.  I was working on becoming cosmic love and the Wild Rose had St. Johns wort, hidden.  I was not only seeking enlightenment but I would be happy with the success I’ve had so far.
These are just a few samples that I hope you enjoy.

A Tool of Transformation and Spiritual Alchemy

The Round Table of Life is used for a tool for transformation, healing and magick.   Any technique I show you can be used for any of these categories.  You can use full ceremony or keep things simple.  (I recommend that you use a grounding spell no matter what you do to bring it into manifestation.)   This is where it gets fun.  You need to collect small stones, crystals and trinkets; things that are personally special to you. These will be used for transformation, healing and magecraft. The basic process is the same, the Arthurian invited and the intentions are mostly what differ.
I recommend the following stones for a start: a garnet for vitality and passion; rose quartz for love and healing; carnelian to ease a woman’s moon-time if it is traumatic  and for a gentle form of physical vitality; citrine for transmuting negative energies and for business success; moonstone for psychic and feminine mysteries; tigers eye for grounding into the physical plane high vibration light, for protection and to bring courage; amethyst for balance, for easing addictions, for protection; snow flake obsidian to help move and balance out stagnant energies; smoky quartz for slowly transmuting negative energies and clear quartz crystal for high vibrations and light.
Actual trinkets are fun but you can use paper “trinkets”, like the sample page that I designed if you want to keep things simple.  Regardless, they are very personal.   I once found a tiny plastic Gatorade bottle that become a symbol for whenever I needed herbs and supplements for my health.  I have a British pound coin that has a Welsh Dragon on it that a friend gave me years ago that I use to link to dragons in my work.  Suggested trinkets include symbols representing food, drink, transportation, clothing, footwear, music, house wares, shelter, communication, books, healthcare, money, spiritual needs, needs for your animal companions, and even energetic qualities like justice, protection, and love.  (2010) I found a lot of trinket-like items made of wood at my local Michaels craft store.  A little bit of different colored magic markers and they now look like things that are meaningful to me.  Create a special box to place your Fews, stones, trinkets and paper symbols in.  Call it the Round Table Treasure box.   I used an attractive metal Russell Stover box and lined it with silk.
    When you decide what exactly you want to transform, then you need to figure out how to start the process.  There are many ways to lay out what you want to do.  You can spell out the end results with the Fews in either their assigned chairs or where you want their energies to manifest.  You may decide to use a certain number of trinkets such as six Fews and stones so as to bring harmony; you could place either a few or stone in each chair if you have a very specific goal.   Say you want to bring harmony into your family in general, as communication is not as clear as it should be.  Take a picture of the family and place it in the center of the table with a rose quartz on top of it.   You decide to place items in Palomides, in The Merlin and in Dame Elaine’s chairs.  You can also place something in Siege Perilous as you want an energy to manifest so you can use an even number.  You look up stones and discover that the emerald and jade give peace and harmony, rose quartz heals all problems and turquoise gives happiness.   So the turquoise goes in The Merlin chair, the emerald in Dame Elaine’s and the jade in Sir Palomides.   You decide to place The Ocean in Siege Perilous as you are all learning how to be more loving.  Despite this, you feel that something is needed in the area of  Sir Gawain.   So you decide to put the Ivy there so that everyone is gentler with each other, after all, even though you are family, you would like to be friends.


(2009) the “LIFE-SPELL”.  I have discovered a really neat and useful way to use this.  This is a spell that helps direct your life in the ways you want it.  You need a separate Round Table of Life that is dedicated to this purpose only; have your Terran name fewset in the upper left hand corner.  You can get those black LP (long play record album) album frames and place a Round Table and the fewsets inside under the protective plastic cover.  Make a separate set of Oghams for this.  You need to decide how you want each area of your life to go.  Keep it simple, please; you don’t have to determine exactly where things should go, this is more a general guiding spell to keep you on track.  Cast individual spells for specific needs.  I was first shown this spell Spring Equinox 2009 and it has grown ever since, more subtly, clear and powerful.  Ideally set it out on Hallowmas (I did it on Spring Equinox) and change things every quarter; you empower it with white lightsticks on every full moon if you can.  I found that sometimes things need to be adjusted after a major event or healing has completed.  You will need a Sangraal Circle (See Dragons Graal tools section) with elemental color painted lightsticks (I would not use a candle unless you use 4 votive cups) in the holders.  Before you actually start the spell, try out the various combinations until you find one you like.  You must have a safe place to leave the spell: I cover mine with a thick indigo blue hand towel for protection and to help concentrate the energies.  Mine is in a place that my cat can not get to.   Do the ceremonies to empower the tools, table etc and them, just specify that you are designating the way you want your life to go, in general.
My goal is to move to another city so I placed a small trinket representing that city in Percieval plus a hawks eye stone to help keep me focused and on track.  I placed glasses and a symbol representing organic food in Morgause as those were my main needs.  I wanted specialized training so I placed a certificate in The Merlin area.  Lancelot had a tiny mirror and a sword as I needed protection against the fundies who are using prayers to attempt to manipulate me.  Dindraine had a symbol for healing work for me so I could get healthier.  I placed a pot of gold on Guinevere to represent the ability to share with others.  I had a white star in Ragnall for guidance and energy through my transformation and changes; Gawain had a tiny tarot box  to represent me using my knowledge to help others; the center had a sigil of my name plus some cat hair as my beloved feline familiar is part of my life and must be included; the rest of the sections had various Ogham fews plus a few stones or crystals.   The upcoming full moon saw me tearing down my first spell; i left it blank until Hallowmas and created a new one for the next year.
Along similar lines, I discovered that you can use the Round Table of Law for healing and magickal work.  I find that using the Table of Law is better when I want impersonal energies and forces to be involved, as I may be sending healing to someone who is a bit sensitive to archetypes or it just may feel right to use the Table of Law.

A  Mechanism for Magick.

Call upon Dame Brisen to aid in your magery and healing.   This is her specialty.   When you decide what exactly you want in your spell, then you need to figure out how to cast it.  You need to determine everything you want to use: fews, trinkets, stones and symbols.  You need to decide how many chairs you want or need to empower to manifest your goal.   I recommend using an odd number of chairs as the energy appears to flow easier.   Keep a balance between your fews, stone and trinkets.  You don’t want to  overwhelm anything at the start.  If you have a spell that is on-going, you can add items later on and remove others as they are not needed.  Sometimes you can place a symbol on each chair, especially if you are doing a spell for the new year and want to direct and focus the whole years energies.   Occasionally you can spell the goal out in Ogham script, link the name with the appropriate chairs and empower those chairs with a special symbol in the center representing you.
Say you want a permanent Love relationship, with the potential for marriage.  So you can place trinkets etc in the following chairs as you spell out Love: Luis (black walnut)-Ohr-(barberry) Phagos (beech) Eadha-(white poplar).  So the Fews are found in the following chairs:  Sir Perceival, Dame Morgause, Elaine of Carbonek and Sir Lancelot.   But there is some less than desirable energy involved if you leave it as it is here.  You need to moderate both Morgauses’ and Lancelots’ energies, though Black Walnut and White poplar can protect you by helping you see clearly.  You don’t want a co-dependant relationship or one with someone who is married.
You may notice that you have Fews on four chairs on the right side, so for balance place items on four chairs on the left side.   Use the chair directly opposite, or place on the border between two chairs.   Place a rose quartz in Guineveres’ chair as this is a loving healing stone to ease the passions and potential problems from both Percieval and Morgause.  To balance Elaine’s’ energy, place an amethyst in Gawain’s chair.  To balance Lancelots’ energies, place the Heather between Gawain and the Lady of the Lake.  You may want to reinforce Guinevere’s chair to balance Morgauses’ energies by using an emerald.  You could them place a small rose in a vase in the very center of the table. You can use rose aromatherapy and Dame Brisen’s incense if you want.   You can add pink candles on the altar if you are interested.  Create your own fewsets for Love, Happiness and Marriage and inscribe them on the candles if you want.   Use a ritual to empower your work or you can keep it simple.  After activating the Round Table, call upon Dame Brisen to specially help you make the magick manifest in the highest and best way.   Create your own chants or use the following.  “Dame Brisen, Enchantress of Old, help my wish, this magick mould.  Dame Brisen,  Enchantress of Light, help my magick manifest so right.”     End with a grounding spell.

A  Helper in Healing.   (Do not substitute this for medical care;  always work with a health care provider. )

Another way to use this table is to use it as a grid for healing.   Healing can use the help of both Dame Brisen, for good health and Dame Ragnall, for the removal of illness.  If you are a Reiki Master or practitioner, this is even better.   Place a picture of the person in the center and top with a clear crystal.   If you have a paper symbol of health such as a caduceus, you can place that under the crystal.  Use the colors red, white and blue in candles if you like.  Make a triangle of turquoise, rose quartz and garnet. Create the appropriate fewsets and add them to the table.  Activate the table and call upon both Dame Ragnall and Dame Brisen.  End with a grounding spell.
Dame Ragnall, Transformer strong, remove whatever, with (name) is wrong.
Dame Ragnall, Transformer bright, bring to (name) healing light.”   ….

Dame Brisen, Enchantress of Old, help my friend, his (or her) illness, fold.
Dame Brisen,  Enchantress of Light, help (name) heal, and have health so bright.”

Here are a couple of examples of using the fews in a healing spread.  Both have as their goal to be cancer-free and use the term cancer-free in the spread. Take the term, cancer-free, drop the repeated vowels and consonants and match each letter with its Ogham Few.   So CANCER-FREE = CANERF = coll, ailim, nion, eadha, ruis and fearn.   I found two interesting ways to lay these down.  Spread 1 shows the feminine spread, to work on the passive, subtle aspects of the disease; spread 2 works on the more active and obvious aspects.    Don’t forget that you can add stones, trinkets and even Reiki to these.

The Passive Feminine Way to be done during a dark or waning moon.


Hazel in:   Siege Perilous: being able to penetrate to the essence of the energies behind the illness, the karma, lessons etc.
Pine in:     Morgause:  to gain strength for the healing process by taking it away from the hungry cancer cells.
Ash in: Elaine: bring in a broader sense in daily life, expand one’s emotional being to include higher realities.

White poplar in: Dindraine: protecting the level of health present while giving strength to become healthier.
Elder in:     Guinevere:  transformation of the feminine energies, maybe a female form of cancer.
Alder in: Ragnall: inappropriate beliefs and principles are released so that change and growth occur in the best ways possible.
If you do any form of energetic healing like Reiki, use the table with your friends picture in the center.  Place the crystal in selected chairs to add extra power.   Then Reiki at least once a day.

The Active Masculine Way to be done during a full or waxing.


A  Helper in Healing.
(Do not substitute this for medical care;  always work with a health care provider. )

Another way to use this table is to use it as a grid for healing.   Healing can use the help of both Dame Brisen, for good health and Dame Ragnall, for the removal of illness.  If you are a Reiki Master or practitioner, this is even better.   Place a picture of the person in the center and top with a clear crystal.   If you have a paper symbol of health such as a caduceus, you can place that under the crystal.  Use the colors red, white and blue in candles if you like.  Make a triangle of turquoise, rose quartz and garnet. Create the appropriate fewsets and add them to the table.  Activate the table and call upon both Dame Ragnall and Dame Brisen.  End with a grounding spell.
“Dame Ragnall, Transformer strong, remove whatever, with (name) is wrong.
Dame Ragnall, Transformer bright, bring to (name) healing light.”   ….

“Dame Brisen, Enchantress of Old, help my friend, his (or her) illness, fold.
Dame Brisen,  Enchantress of Light, help (name) heal, and have health so bright.”
Here are a couple of examples of using the fews in a healing spread.  Both have as their goal to be cancer-free and use the term cancer-free in the spread. Take the term, cancer-free, drop the repeated vowels and consonants and match each letter with its Ogham Few.   So CANCER-FREE = CANERF = coll, ailim, nion, eadha, ruis and fearn.   I found two interesting ways to lay these down.  Spread 1 shows the feminine spread, to work on the passive, subtle aspects of the disease; spread 2 works on the more active and obvious aspects.    Don’t forget that you can add stones, trinkets and even Reiki to these also.
Hazel in  Percieval: this can be done at the first signs to nip it in the bud and to bring it back to primordial innocence.
Pine in The Merlin:   aids in educating the body’s own healer cells to be more effective at destroying the cancers.
Ash in Lancelot:  releasing a too-rational way of facing the world or psychic structure in dealing with life; could represent releasing a male form of cancer
White poplar in Palomides: protecting the desire to “beat-the-odds” given,  be positive throughout the process
Elder in  King Arthur:  transforms the negative effects of therapy
Alder in Gawain:  strength in facing possible problems at work, and having friends who believe that you will recover.
If you do any form of energetic healing like Reiki, with your friends picture in the center.  Place the crystal in selected chairs to add extra power.   Then Reiki at least once a day.

 

A Gracious Gateway

I have seen hints that this table will eventually become a gateway to other worlds.  But you need to ask help of the Arthurian Taliesin, who is not represented on the Table proper.  You can reach him through the guided visualizations found later.   If you follow The Basic Arthurian visualization with the intention that you meet Taliesin upon the beach, then he can take you to the realms you are interested in.  I have not done much work with this as I had other responsibilities.   If you seek to do this, use the simple tree ritual first before doing the guided visualization and carry a silver bough, also having a silver bough symbol on the Round Table of LAW.  Take a simple apple branch and paint it silver, then attach silver bells to it.   This gives you safe passage to go to other realms with.    However,  you need to use the Round Table of Law as a gateway.   Good exploring.

Elemental Tool of Earth: Table of Law.
The Round Table of Law is a variation of the Round table of Life, the Zodiacal symbols are in the chairs, rather than Arthurians.   Dame Ragnall has revealed this as another symbol of the element of Earth to be placed in the North.  A variation of this Round Table of Law is called the Balanced Body Table.  This is the Round Table of Law on a white background, to be used with a pendulum and a link.    This gives the color and sound to be used to help balance an organ of the body and to bring it back into harmony with the rest of the organ systems and the body.

Next we look at the Ogham Fews in relation to the Round Table.   DolmaDraka

Leave a Reply

Categories

